This site contains material that may not be suitable for all audiences.

Tales From the Knowne World is a site dedicated to the study of jewelry, historical sex work, Ancient Rome, reenactment, history, fashion, & a touch of random.


The Latest

I’m going to be talking Roman Jewelry: Saturday, February 13th at the University of Atlantia (see below for more info).

Latest article: Getting the Roman Look: Eyeshadow (A Modern Alternative)

“A Brief Overview of Roman Jewelry” was published in Northshield’s December newsletter, The Northwatch.


Recent Posts

  • Getting the Roman Look
    Cheap & Easy: Eyeshadow Here’s your Roman makeup hack of the day, which I will eventually do a class on.
  • ALL THAT BLING (SUN)
    ALL THAT BLING: AN INTRODUCTION TO ROMAN JEWELRY 1 BCE to 2 CE
  • A Peak At The Fascinum
    The fascinum (or phallus or Divine Penis) was a cult like object. It was used to ward off evil (the evil eye) and for protection, versus something sexual as one may think. It was celebrated, worshiped, and its likeness was used in celebrations. It has been found depicted on rings, pendants, […]
  • Sex Workers in Ancient Rome
    To discuss sex workers in Ancient Rome is to part with our ideas and ideals of the modern view of sex work and sex. For in Ancient Rome, sex work was a vital part of both the economy and the social structure. It was an accepted, and considered necessary, part of […]

Upcoming Events & Classes

Intro to Roman Jewelry

Saturday, February 13th

2:30 PST/3:30 MST/4:30 CST/5:30 EST

University of Atlantia

January 11th to February 10th. Registration is required and is open from

Yep, I’ll be teaching this class again. Well, not really the same class as I alter it every time I teach it. Always learning more. If you’re unfamiliar with my class, Introduction to Roman Jewelry focuses Roman jewelry from the 1st century BCE to the 2nd century CE. I cover such topics as, but not limited to, social status, what is jewelry and what is not, amulets, extent finds, the history of jewelry, and the different kinds.

Knowne World Courtesans: 2021 Gulf Wars Virtual Courtesan College

Starting March 17th at 9AM CST and Ending March 21st at 5PM CST

Facebook Event Page

No pre-registration required.

I will definitely be teaching but I’m not exactly sure what yet.


Recreating Roman Jewelry

A collection of jewelry recreated from the Early Roman Empire.

Current Research Projects

Body Chains In The Ancient World  

The Cult of Isis & The Meretrix 

Sex As Slander: The Vilification of Powerful Roman Women 

Dressing The Female Roman Persona

Gender in Ancient Rome

Thank you for visiting!